

Council Members

Certified True Copy

Mayor Neil Nicholson Deputy Mayor Cathy Regier Councillors: Mark Bell Michael Moore Chris Olmstead Connie Tabbert Joey Trimm

Re: Resolution - Water and Wastewater Unaffordable Rates - Mayor Neil Nicholson

At its meeting of December 6, 2023, the Council of the Township of Whitewater Region adopted the following resolution:

THAT the Council of the Township of Whitewater Region: 1. Advocate to the County of Renfrew:

- a. to make County Council aware that rural and small urban water and wastewater systems are financially unsustainable and seek a resolution to support advocacy for additional financial supports from the provincial and federal levels of government; and
- b. to seek support from the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO), the Rural Ontario Municipalities Association (ROMA) and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) to examine if the unaffordability of water and wastewater system operational costs is systemic provincially and nationally.
- 2. Establish "Water and Wastewater Task Force," that would report to Council with advice and policy recommendations relating to operating and lifecycle costs of water and wastewater systems, including a review of existing programs, policies, and solutions both locally and in other relevant jurisdictions.
- 3. That this resolution be circulated to the Honorable Cheryl Gallant MP, John Yakabuski MPP, AMO, ROMA, FCM, all municipalities within the County of

(613) 646-2282 🕻

P.O. Box 40, 44 Main Street Cobden, ON K0J 1K0

whitewaterregion.ca

Renfrew, County of Renfrew Warden, and the City of Pembroke.

Carried - as amended Resolution #2023-5010

Sincerely,

liter

Carmen Miller Clerk/CEMC

