

## Township of Perry

PO Box 70, 1695 Emsdale Road, Emsdale, ON POA 1J0

PHONE: (705)636-5941 FAX: (705)636-5759 www.townshipofperry.ca

February 26, 2024

Via Email

The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Premier's Office Room 281, Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Dear Premier Ford,

RE: Request to the Province to Amend Blue Box Regulation for 'Ineligible' Sources

At their last regular meeting on Wednesday February 21, 2024, the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Perry supported the following:

"Resolution #2024-52 Moved by: Paul Sowrey Seconded by: Jim Cushman

**Whereas** under Ontario Regulation 391/21: Blue Box producers are fully accountable and financially responsible for their products and packaging once they reach their end of life and are disposed of, for 'eligible' sources only;

**And Whereas** 'ineligible' sources which producers are not responsible for include businesses, places of worship, daycares, campgrounds, public-facing and internal areas of municipal-owned buildings, and not-for-profit organizations, such as shelters and food banks;

**And Whereas** should a municipality continue to provide services to the 'ineligible' sources, the municipality will be required to oversee the collection, transportation, and processing of the recycling, assuming 100% of the costs;

**Be it resolved that** the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Perry hereby request that the province amend Ontario Regulation 391/21: Blue

Box so that producers are responsible for the end-of-life management of recycling products from all sources;

**And further that** Council hereby request the support of all Ontario Municipalities;

**And further that** this resolution be forwarded to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, the Honourable Andrea Khanjin, Minister of the Environment, Conservation, and Parks, the Honourable Graydon Smith, MPP Parry Sound-Muskoka, and to all Ontario Municipalities.

Carried."

Your attention to this matter is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Beth Morton

Clerk-Administrator

BM/ec

c.c. Honourable Andrea Khanjin, Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks Honourable Graydon Smith, MPP Parry Sound-Muskoka All Ontario Municipalities