



Town of Aurora 100 John West Way, Box 1000 Aurora, ON L4G 6J1

March 6, 2024

The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Premier's Office, Room 281 Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1 **Delivered by email** premier@ontario.ca

Dear Premier Ford:

Re: Town of Aurora Council Resolution of February 27, 2024

Member Motion 8.1.9 - Councillor Gilliland; Re: Council/Committee Meeting

Structure Under Strong Mayor Powers

Please be advised that this matter was considered by Council at its meeting held on February 27, 2024, and in this regard, Council adopted the following resolution:

Whereas the Province expanded Strong Mayor Powers to municipalities over 50,000 in population, who committed to a housing pledge in the fall of 2023 to help address the housing crisis, but was not mandatory to accept with a housing pledge; and

Whereas the Town of Aurora head of council has the discretion whether to use the strong mayor powers, except for those dealing with the budget; and

Whereas strong mayor powers permit the head of council the ability to create new committees of council made under the *Municipal Act, 2001*, where all members are council members, and assign their functions. The head of council is also able to appoint the chairs and vice-chairs of such committees of council;

- Now Therefore Be It Hereby Resolved That Council requests that the Mayor reconsider using strong mayor powers to alter the current structure of Council and/or committee meetings, but rather remains the same as officials were originally elected to do; and
- 2. Be It Further Resolved That a copy of this Motion be sent to the Hon. Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, the Hon. Michael Parsa, MPP Aurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond Hill, Dawn Gallagher Murphy, MPP Newmarket—Aurora, and all Ontario municipalities.

2 of 2

The above is for your consideration and any attention deemed necessary.

Sincerely,

Michael de Rond

Town Clerk

The Corporation of the Town of Aurora

MdR/lb

Attachment (Council meeting extract)

Copy: Hon. Michael Parsa, MPP Aurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond Hill Dawn Gallagher Murphy, MPP Newmarket—Aurora All Ontario municipalities



100 John West Way Aurora, Ontario L4G 6J1 (905) 727-3123 aurora.ca

Town of Aurora

Council Meeting Extract

Tuesday, February 27, 2024

8. Standing Committee Reports

Moved by Councillor Thompson **Seconded by** Councillor Gaertner

That the Standing Committee Reports, items 8.1 and 8.2, be received and the recommendations carried by the Committee approved, with the exception of subitems 8.1.7, 8.1.8, 8.2.1, 8.2.4, 8.2.6, and 8.2.8, which were discussed and voted on separately as recorded below.

Yeas (6): Mayor Mrakas, Councillor Weese, Councillor Gilliland, Councillor Gaertner, Councillor Thompson, and Councillor Gallo

Absent (1): Councillor Kim

Carried (6 to 0)

8.1 General Committee Meeting Report of February 6, 2024

8.1.9 Member Motion - Councillor Gilliland; Re: Council/Committee Meeting Structure Under Strong Mayor Powers

Whereas the Province expanded Strong Mayor Powers to municipalities over 50,000 in population, who committed to a housing pledge in the fall of 2023 to help address the housing crisis, but was not mandatory to accept with a housing pledge; and

Whereas the Town of Aurora head of council has the discretion whether to use the strong mayor powers, except for those dealing with the budget; and

Whereas strong mayor powers permit the head of council the ability to create new committees of council made under the *Municipal Act*, 2001, where all members are council members, and assign their functions. The head of council is also able to appoint the chairs and vice-chairs of such committees of council;

 Now Therefore Be It Hereby Resolved That Council requests that the Mayor reconsider using strong mayor powers to alter the current structure of Council and/or committee meetings, but

- rather remains the same as officials were originally elected to do; and
- 2. Be It Further Resolved That a copy of this Motion be sent to the Hon. Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario, the Hon. Michael Parsa, MPP Aurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond Hill, Dawn Gallagher Murphy, MPP Newmarket—Aurora, and all Ontario municipalities.

Carried