

Date:	February 20, 2024		Resolution COU-2024-063			
Moved By:		Councillor Byron	Faretis			
Seconded B	Sv:	Councillor Jeff W	/heeldon			

Whereas, the Municipality of Brighton faces challenges related to limited access to transportation, and there exists a pressing need for a ride-sharing service to address transportation gaps within our community;

And Whereas Rideshare services are increasingly relied upon by seniors, students, visitors and tourists, and residents looking for safe, affordable, convenient, and reliable ways to travel;

And Whereas, the standardization and consistency of regulations across municipalities, particularly in Ontario, can improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the regulatory framework:

And Whereas, transferring the responsibility of ride-share regulations and licensing to the provincial level would contribute to a more streamlined and uniform governance structure, while eliminating associated red tape and unnecessary administrative costs;

Therefore, Be It Resolved that the Municipality of Brighton Council hereby expresses its support for the migration of ride-share regulations and licensing from the municipal level to the provincial level:

Be It Further Resolved that the Municipality of Brighton Council formally requests the Government of Ontario to initiate the transfer of responsibilities in the interest of creating a more coherent and standardized regulatory framework for ride-sharing services across the province;

Be It Further Resolved that copies of this motion be distributed to the Honourable Doug Ford. Premier of Ontario: the Honourable Prabmeet Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation: the Honourable Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; the Honourable David Piccini, Member of Provincial Parliament for Northumberland-Peterborough South; the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO); the Eastern Ontario Wardens Caucus, the County of Northumberland; and all six neighbouring Northumberland lower-tier municipalities, and all Ontario municipalities.

Carried OR Defeate	d	_		Mayor				
Recorded Vote		For Clerks Use Only						
Recorded vote called by:								
	For	Against	Abstain	Absent	COI			
Mayor Brian Ostrander								
Deputy Mayor Ron Anderson								
Councillor Byron Faretis								
Councillor Anne Butwell								
Councillor Emily Rowley								
Councillor Jeff Wheeldon								
Councillor Bobbi Wright								
Total								
Carried X Def	lerk's Initials	CD						