

## The Corporation of the Town of Cobourg

Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario Premier of Ontario Legislative Building Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A1 Town of Cobourg 55 King Street West, Cobourg, ON, K9A 2M2 <u>clerk@cobourg.ca</u> Town of Cobourg

Delivered via email doug.fordco@pc.ola.org premier@ontario.ca March 11, 2024

## RE: Correspondence from the County of Renfrew regarding the affordability of water and wastewater systems in rural and small urban municipalities

Please be advised that the Town of Cobourg Council, at its meeting held on February 28, 2024, passed the following resolution:

THAT Council support the correspondence from the County of Renfrew regarding the affordability of water and wastewater systems in rural and small urban municipalities; and

FURTHER THAT Council advocate to the Provincial and Federal levels of government to make them aware that rural and small urban water and wastewater systems are financially unsustainable; and

FURTHER THAT Council advocate to the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO), the Rural Ontario Municipalities Association (ROMA) and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) to examine if the unaffordability of water and wastewater system operational costs is systemic provincially and nationally; and

FURTHER THAT Council direct Staff to forward a copy of this resolution to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario; the Honourable Kinga Surma, Minister of Infrastructure (Ontario); the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities (Canada); the Honourable Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; the Honourable Andrea Khanjin, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks (Ontario); Philip Lawrence, MP, Northumberland-Peterborough South; David Piccini, MPP,



## The Corporation of the Town of Cobourg

Northumberland-Peterborough South; AMO; ROMA; FCM; and all Municipalities in Ontario.

Sincerely,

Kristina Lepik Deputy Clerk/Manager, Legislative Services

cc. the Honourable Kinga Surma, Minister of Infrastructure (Ontario);

the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities (Canada);

the Honourable Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing;

the Honourable Andrea Khanjin, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks (Ontario);

Philip Lawrence, MP, Northumberland-Peterborough South;

David Piccini, MPP, Northumberland-Peterborough South;

AMO;

ROMA; FCM; and all Ontario Municipalities