Township of Southgate Administration Office

Southgate

185667 Grey County Road 9, RR 1 Dundalk, ON NOC 1B0

June 23, 2025

Toll Free: 1-888-560-6607 **Fax:** 519-923-9262 **Web:** www.southgate.ca

Phone: 519-923-2110

Re: Bill 5 - Protecting Ontario by Unleashing Our Economy Act

At their regular Council meeting held on June 18, 2025, the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Southgate adopted the following:

No. 2025-343

Moved By Deputy Mayor Dobreen **Seconded By** Councillor John

Be it resolved that the Township of Southgate receives and supports the correspondence from the City of Woodstock - Bill 5, Protect Ontario by Unleashing our Economy Act, 2025, and by virtue of that the correspondence, supports the resolution from City of Kingston; and

Whereas the Township of Southgate supports increasing housing supply and economic growth, but believes this must be done in a way that upholds environmental responsibility and maintains the integrity of local planning processes; and

Therefore, be it resolved that the Township of Southgate oppose all provisions in Bill 5 that reduce environmental protections and Ontario's proud legacy of protections of Endangered Species, that override the rule of law and that nullify municipal planning authority; and

That the Council of the Township of Southgate urge the Province of Ontario to rescind Bill 5 and instead support housing and infrastructure development in ways that aligns with sound environmental planning and wildlife protection, respects the sovereignty and stewardship of Indigenous peoples, and empowers municipalities with appropriate planning tools; and

That this resolution be sent to The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario; The Honourable Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier; The Honourable Rob Flack, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing; The Honourable Todd McCarthy, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks; The Honourable Prabmeet Singh Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation; The Honourable Stephen Lecce, Minister of Energy and Mines; The Honourable Graydon Smith, MPP Parry Sound-Muskoka, MPP Paul Vickers Bruce Grey Owen Sound, The Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO); The Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities (FONOM); The Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA); Conservation Ontario; Saugeen Ojibway Nation Chief Conrad Ritchie; Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation Chief Greg Nadjiwon; Six Nations of the Grand River Chief Sherri-Lyn Hill; Anishinabek Nation Grand Council Chief Linda DeBassige; Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) President Margaret Froh; and all Ontario Municipalities. Carried

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the above, please contact our office at (519) 923-2110.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Green, Clerk Township of Southgate

cc: The Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario

The Honourable Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier of Ontario

The Honourable Rob Flack, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

The Honourable Todd McCarthy, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

The Honourable Prabmeet Singh Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation

The Honourable Stephen Lecce, Minister of Energy and Mines

The Honourable Graydon Smith, MPP Parry Sound-Muskoka

Paul Vickers, MPP Bruce Grey Owen Sound

The Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO)

The Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities (FONOM)

The Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA)

Conservation Ontario

Conrad Ritchie, Chief, Saugeen Ojibway Nation

Gregory Nadjiwon, Chief, Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation

Sherri-Lyn Hill, Chief, Six Nations of the Grand River

Linda DeBassige, Chief, Anishinabek Nation Grand Council

Margaret Froh, President, Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO)

All Ontario Municipalities